2020 NPL Round 3 – Saints v Knights

The Melbourne Knights will travel to Churchill Reserve this Sunday to take on fellow Croatian club, St Albans Saints in Round 3 of the NPL Victoria Season at 5pm.

In what is sure to be a mouth-watering contest, both sides go into the contest in relatively good form at this early stage of the season.

The Saints go into the game undefeated after registering a thumping 4-2 victory over Green Gully in the opening round of the season but had to settle for a point in a hard fought 1-1 draw against Dandenong City last Friday.

The Knights also go into the Croatian Derby undefeated but are yet to register a win thus far this season. They were only seconds away from victory in their clash with Dandenong Thunder last week but a Brandon Barnes equaliser in the 96th minute saw the game finish in a thrilling 3-3 draw.



Hamish Watson – The focal point of the Knights attack, Hamish “Hammer” Watson has scored 3 goals already this season and will be looking to add to his tally on Sunday.

Jordan Gifkins – The Knights custodian will start his first game of the season after Harry Cakarun received his marching orders last week. It’s not the first time Gifkins has been thrown into the ring of fire for the club when last season saw him excel against South Melbourne in the FFA Cup Qualifying game when called upon.

Ollie Bassett – The Saints off season recruit from Team Wellington in New Zealand has set the league on fire. A man of the match performance in their opening game of the season, the dynamic attacking midfielder will be looking to impress yet again.



NPL VIC Round 26 – Sunday August 20 2017

Melbourne Knights – 3 (Hicks 21′ 80’(p), Tardio 85’)

St Albans Saints – 1 (Cundari 6′)


NPL Round 3 Match Details

Date: Sunday 1st March 2020

Kick-off: 5:00pm

Venue: Churchill Reserve

Match Official:Perry Mur

Team News

Melbourne Knights FC Squad List:
1. Marc O’Rourke, 2. Enes SIVIC, 3. Erdeniz YILDIZ, 4. Nikola JURKOVIC, 5. Nic PETRILLO, 6. Anthony DUZEL, 9. Hamish WATSON, 10. Gian ALBANO, 11. Caleb MIKULIC, 12. Ivan GRGIC, 13. Calvin WHITNEY, 14. Marcus DUNCAN, 16. Conor MCDONALD, 17. John BUCETO, 18. Dante KARLUSIC, 19. Nick GLAVAN, 20. Jordan GIFKINS, 21. Jack MARTH, 27. Joey FRANJIC

Unavailable: James McGarry (injury), Felipe Sanchez (injury), Mathew Breeze (suspended), Harry Cakarun (suspended) 

Check Also

2024 NPL Round 14 – OG Melbourne Derby

The Original Melbourne Derby has found its way back to Somers St at the official …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *