2020 NPL Round 1 – Sharks v Knights

The Melbourne Knights will kick off their 2020 NPL Victoria season this Friday evening in their Round One clash against the Port Melbourne Sharks at JL Murphy Reserve at 7:45pm.

It’s been a busy pre-season for the Knights bringing in a new coaching staff as well as a big turnover in the playing squad.

Photographed by Mikko Robles


Stuart Munro was installed as the head coach in early November. He has brought Lachlan Armstrong from Melbourne City in as his assistant coach along with Keegan Ziada as his Head of Performance. Blerton Belica has been retained as the clubs Goalkeeper Coach.

“I wanted to bring in a level of professionalism into the club and it began with my staff. Lachlan has been around the game for a while and has been a massive asset to the club so far as his impact with the playing group has been immediate. Keegan’s fitness staff has been unbelievable for us in pre-season and has helped prepare us to get in the right shape for the season proper.” – Stuart Munro

The Knights have also brought in a number of new faces to the playing squad;


Enes Sivic (Dandenong City) Read more here.

Erdeniz Yildiz (Fethiyespor – Turkey) Read more here.

Nic Petrillo (Rockdale Suns) Read more here.

Conor McDonald (Southern United – New Zealand) Read more here.

James McGarry (Altona Magic) Read more here.

Mathew Breeze (Green Gully) Read more here.

John Buceto (FC Kaan-Marienborn – Germany) Read more here.

Jack Marth (Melbourne Victory) Read more here.

Felipe Sanchez (Melbourne Knights Under 20’s) Read more here.

Dante Karlusic (Melbourne Knights Under 20’s) Read more here.

Marcus Duncan (Hamilton Olympic) Read more here.


Marijan Cvitkovic (Caroline Springs George Cross)

Luke Jurcic (released)

Ayden Brice (Edgeworth Eagles)

Corey Sewell (Bentleigh Greens)

AJ Inia (Caroline Springs George Cross)

Adrian Tardio (Werribee City)

Mohamed Awad (Dandenong Thunder)

Atilla Ofli (Pascoe Vale)

“I wanted to bring in some experienced players that have been around and know what it takes to take this club to the next level. There was plenty of good players that we retained from last season, but I felt they would be able to perform better with some experience around them.” – Stuart Munro

2020 Round 1

NPL Round 1 Match Details

Date: Friday 14th February 2020

Kick-off: 7:45pm

Venue: JL Murphy Reserve

Match Official: Adam Bavcar

Team News

Melbourne Knights FC Squad List:
1. Harry CAKARUN, 2. Enes SIVIC, 3. Erdeniz YILDIZ, 4. Nikola JURKOVIC, 5. Nic PETRILLO, 6. Anthony DUZEL, 7. Mathew BREEZE, 9. Hamish WATSON, 10. Gian ALBANO, 11. Caleb MIKULIC, 12. Ivan GRGIC, 13. Calvin WHITNEY, 14. Marcus DUNCAN, 16. Conor MCDONALD, 17. John BUCETO, 18. Dante KARLUSIC, 19. Nick GLAVAN, 20. Jordan GIFKINS, 21. Jack MARTH, 27. Joey FRANJIC

Unavailable: James McGarry (injury), Felipe Sanchez (suspended)


Check Also

Club statement on the announcement of the National Second Tier competition

The Melbourne Knights Football Club welcomes Football Australia’s announcement this week of a National Second …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *